Skip to content

Old Favourite: Chard and Kale Pie Recipe

by on April 14, 2015

Chard and Kale PieI’ve previously posted a recipe for Chard and kale pie but I’ve been working on it since and thought the result which is now a firm favorite of mine was worth sharing! I’ve simplified it a bit, so I use filo pastry to line a pie dish and then layer up gently fried onion and garlic, chard, feta cheese, sun dried tomatoes, basil and peppers. When I get to about the middle I just crack 3 or 4 or 5 eggs into it and then continue layering! I change what I put into it, so sometimes black olives or capers, sometimes antipasti, if I’m feeling really indulgent I put a layer of Parmesan on the top. You could use loads of different herbs – coriander and mint would be lush! At the moment we’re not getting Kale so I use all chard, but I think spinach would work just as well and I think mushrooms would be a good addition as well! I cook at 180C for about 45 minutes but I usually cover the top with tin foil after about 25 minutes otherwise it burns. You could probably cook it for less if you wanted the egg yolks to stay runny!

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

