Chard for pudding – some recipe!

ChardEvery year I develop a new favorite vegetable. I will always love broad beans – they are what got me started growing, but last year fennel was my new favorite and this year chard is creeping up there by stealth! It looks amazing – the variety we grow is called bright lights and it really is very bright! Its related to rhubarb and those red ones do look rhubarby! However its the white ones with a big rib running down the middle that I love the most.

During a crop share recently I had a good chat with the youngest of one of our family members and we agreed that the stem was both of our favorite parts! I love it raw, it’s like celery but more juicy! Chard is really versatile, it goes in pies or stews and curries, it does Italian pasta type things, it steams (lovely irony flavor like spinach), it goes in stir fries and the smallest leaves I’m happy to eat raw in salad! It seems like Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall loves chard almost as much as me but look he can even make pudding with it:

Many chard recipes including pudding – Wow, it’s got to be tried!